Meet and Greet: New Employee Spotlight

Introductions can be pretty awkward sometimes, especially over the internet. It’s hard to tell who someone truly is and what kind of person they are when we are all hiding behind a standard 12-point font. So, I will do my best to share who I am with you guys in a way that feels like we already know each other. In fact, we’ve known each other for years!

On Monday I started my first day of work as an official Town and Country Orthodontics employee. To be honest, I thought I had made a mistake when I first walked into the office. Orthodontic offices are supposed to be utterly terrifying, they’re pretty much legal torture chambers. Which is why I almost did an embarrassed 180 ° back into the hallway when I walked through those blue glass front doors for the first time. It was like stepping into an alternate orthodontic universe where the office looks like a Caribbean spa retreat and the assistants treat you like the family members they actually like. Without a doubt I am thrilled to be a part of the T.A.C.O Team and even though it has only been three days, I feel like I’ve been here forever.

The T.A.C.O. Belles
The T.A.C.O. Belles

So, the next time you come into our office and see a strange face, that’s me! Hi hello my name is Jillian and it is a pleasure to meet you! I stay tucked away in the little cubby right behind the front desk, I’m pretty easy to spot because I have absolutely covered my desk in nearly a thousand neon post it notes. The next time you’re in the office stop by and say hello! Seeing as we’re going to be spending a lot of time together throughout your treatment we might as well be friends, ammirite? Here are a few fun facts about me to get us better acquainted before we meet in person at the office.

Backyard photo shoots are her favorite.
Kevin likes to model in her spare time. Backyard photo shoots are her favorite.

I am the oldest of six children and both of my parent’s favorite child, despite what my siblings might tell you.

I have a lady Chihuahua named Kevin who I adopted from Craigslist. Before you ask I did not name her that, her previous owners did. Yes, they named her after Kevin from Up, although my Kevin looks more like a potato than a Snipe.

One summer I spent a few weeks teaching 4th grade Science in the Dominican Republic as a study abroad program. The students and I made up a super cool rap called Global Warming and it was #1 on the radio for 6 weeks. Ok, that last part might not be 100% true but a girl can dream.

I do not have a favorite food because I love all food equally and with all of my heart. Although, I am very fond of cheese, even the orange cheese that comes in a can.

My family has a giggling problem. We can’t do anything without giggling at each other or at ourselves. My parents used to hold contests to see who could complete a task without giggling. None of us ever even finished the tasks. It’s hard to breathe and giggle at the same time, ok?

My favorite thing to do in the whole entire world is laugh and to make others laugh. There is something about laughter that is infectious and healing. Having a bad day? Repeat “hehe hoho” over and over again until you feel better. I guarantee you won’t make it past the third round before the words turn into giggles and laughter. There is nothing like laughing with your friends or family, the kind of laugh where you can’t even open your eyes and your face hurts from the wide smile your mouth can’t break. That laughter is one of the reasons I already love working at Town and Country Orthodontics. Even though I only started on Monday it feels like I have spent 85% of my time laughing with the ladies in the office. With such positive, happy people and a calming yet vibrant atmosphere it’s hard to believe that the T.A.C.O office isn’t a luxurious spa retreat.

I think my brother forgot how to smile.
I think my brother forgot how to smile.

Now that I’ve talked (or typed) your ear off, I’ll let you get back to your regularly scheduled web surfing. I can’t wait to meet and get to know all of you as you move through your orthodontic treatment and I hope to share lots of laughter and smiles with everyone in the future.

As Oscar Wilde said, “Laughter is not at all a bad beginning for a friendship, and it is far the best ending for one”.

Leave a Reply

