It’s Turkey Lurkey Time!

A few years ago I was content to lounge around in the weeks leading up to Thanksgiving. I wouldn’t say that there were no thoughts of food, I’m always thinking about food, but I didn’t put any thought intoThanksgiving dinner or how it magically appeared, cooked and ready in front of me. My mom made dinner, she always did and she always would. Until one day my sister decided that she was going to plan dinner. Me, being the attention seeker that I am, couldn’t let her take all the glory and so, for the first time in my life, I contemplated being a productive member of the Despard family. Thanksgiving here I come!

anigif_enhanced-buzz-3228-1384903570-0
It’s Turkey Lurkey time!

This sudden interest in making Thanksgiving dinner wasn’t all about the fame and glory. To be honest (jeez I hope my mom isn’t reading this), I was kind of getting tired of the same old boring Thanksgiving meal that my mom would make (it was delicious, I swear!). I needed to spice up my yearly gluttonous foray into the world of amateur competitive eating, make things a little more interesting than stuffing and green beans.

So,like anyone masquerading as a responsible adult, I hit Pinterest. And boy oh boy did Pinterest hit back! I stumbled upon a Thanksgiving gold mine and immediately I was lost in visions of being heralded as a Thanksgiving Queen, slow waving to the people as strapping pilgrims carry me through the streets on an antique serving platter.

joey_turkey

Since I am a generous Thanksgiving Queen I have compiled a list of recipes that pack the most punch, the ones sure to have everyone at the table singing your magical Thanksgiving praises. Let’s start with some appetizers, shall we?

Baked Brie with Balsamic Rosemary Cranberry Sauce. Y’all. Proceed with caution. Maybe split up the leftovers (if there are any!) amongst your guests because I promise that if you don’t, you will finish this whole delight all on your own. This comes from experience. On two separate occasions. Let me remind you that this is a judge free zone and if I didn’t eat it, it would have gone to waste.DSC_0014_edited-1-1024x682

Chipotle Stuffed Mushrooms. These are a tad time consuming but totally worth it. I found that the best way to handle these mushrooms is to prep prep prep! Make everything the day before and pop them in the fridge until you’re ready to bake, voila!

tall

Prosciutto Wrapped Asparagus. Don’t let the picture fool you, these are no stuffed mushrooms! Okay, obviously not but what I meant by that was while this dish might look time consuming, it really takes no time at all. One trick I learned is to group the asparagus into clusters of two or three rather than wrapping each stalk individually.DIY-Finger-Foods-Prosciutto-Asparagus-1

Bourbon bacon whipped sweet potatoes. I may be alone here but I absolutely DESPISE mashed potatoes. Something about the grey, flavorless mushy chunks just doesn’t appeal to me. It could have been the week in college where the only thing I ate was mashed potatoes with ketchup, but that’s neither here nor there.

bacon-bourbon-whipped-sweet-potatoes-with-crispy-sage-I-howsweeteats.com-3

Braised Brussels Sprouts with Bacon. Brussels sprouts are not the most popular vegetable in the world but I feel that it is my duty as the self-appointed Thanksgiving Queen to change the way the world sees my favorite sprout. Give this recipe a shot and I promise that you will be permanently moving Brussels sprouts into your crisping drawer.

Brussels-sprouts1
Enter a caption

There are two things you might notice when reading this post. 1. Pinterest is very fond of bacon and 2. Where’s the turkey?! I purposely left turkey off of this list because quite simply, I’ve never cooked it before. It wouldn’t be fair for me to advocate a recipe that, for all I know, could turn that turkey into a lump of brined cinnamon mush.

The beautiful thing about Thanksgiving is the tradition. Do you have a recipe that your family swears by? Share it with us! Post your favorite recipe to our Facebook wall, on our Instagram, or even leave it in the comments below! You never know when you’ll find that one recipe to make this Thanksgiving your best one yet. both_hands

So where can you find all these delicious recipes? Just follow the links below!

Baked brie with balsamic rosemary cranberry sauce from Sarcastic Cooking

Chipotle stuffed mushrooms from Jay’s Baking Me Crazy

Prosciutto wrapped asparagus from Eat Drink Paleo

Bourbon bacon whipped sweet potatoes from How Sweet It Is

Braised brussels sprouts with bacon from Simply-Delicious-Food

 

Leave a Reply

